The 25th Annual Southern Music Issue + free CD hits newsstands on December 5th, but you can pre-order yours today!



No Tears Project: Free Concert

CALS Ron Robinson Theatre

September 25, 2023

6:30 PM

free to the public

Seating is limited.

9-20-23: There are no more tickets available at this time. Please check for potential availability by visiting the box office at Ron Robinson Theater on the day of the event when doors open at 5:30 pm.



Join the Oxford American, National Park Service, and the City of Little Rock for a free concert featuring the No Tears Project ensemble on Monday, September 25, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. at CALS Ron Robinson Theater in Little Rock, Arkansas. The concert will be part of “Little Rock Nine Day,” commemorating and honoring the 66th anniversary of the Little Rock Nine’s desegregation of Central High School.

No Tears Project ensemble is a jazz-inflected collective of musicians, dancers, and spoken word artists formed in 2017 by Arkansas-based pianist and composer Christopher Parker and vocalist Kelley Hurt in partnership with Oxford American. Originally born from a musical composition written by Parker and Hurt to honor the Little Rock Nine during 60th anniversary commemoration events, No Tears Project has evolved into a touring group and outreach program that uses conversation and concerts to engage communities around the country in learning about civil rights.

The ensemble’s last appearance in Little Rock was in March 2019, during a concert in conjunction with members of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra. At the event, GRAMMY-nominated bassist and composer Rufus Reid premiered expanded arrangements of Parker and Hurt’s “No Tears Suite.” Since that time, the group’s repertoire has expanded significantly. In 2023 alone, the group commissioned and premiered new civil rights-inspired music, dance, and poetry during multi-day residencies in both St. Louis and Memphis.

Ensemble members for this special concert include Christopher Parker (piano); Kelley Hurt (voice), Treasure Shields Redmond (spoken word / poetry), Darrian Douglas (drums and percussion), Rodney Jordan (bass), Robert “Bobby LaVell” Garner (tenor saxophone), Marc Franklin (trumpet), Chad Fowler (alto saxophone), and Ashley Tate (dance), plus special guests Matt Dickson (tenor saxophone) and Tyus Diaz (woodwinds).


Presented in Partnership with:

City of Little Rock, Arkansas - Capital City - Pulaski County | City of  Little Rock